We're excited to announce a new Club of the Waves! View the new site

August 8th, 2012

Shawn Parkin wins the 2012 Follow The Light Foundation

Congratulations to Californian surf photographer Shawn Parkin who has won the $5,000 2012 Follow the Light Foundation grant! See the five talented finalists here.

The 7th annual Follow the Light Foundation (FTLF) Awards is a non-profit organisation that continues to fuel the dreams of the world’s most talented young surf photographers. Founded after iconic photographer Larry “Flame” Moore’s passing to ensure that up-and-coming surf photographers continue to get the recognition and support they deserve.

Photo by Shawn Parkin from Dana Point, California

FTLF 2012 grant winner Shawn Parkin with finalists Sarah Lee, Mike Smolowe, Ryan Craig, and Matt Kurvin. Accompanied by FTLF Board Members Celeste Moureaux, Candace Moore and Aaron Chang

Shawn ParkinFTLF grant winner!

SWELL commented: "His variety of styles showcased his experience with stop-motion, water angles, line-up shots, panoramas, and night flash. His photos give fresh perspectives to highly photographed Californian surf spots like Salt Creek, Huntington Beach Pier, and Trestles."

Below is Shawn’s slideshow he submitted for the competition:

http://shawnparkin.zenfolio.com & http://shawnparkin.blogspot.co.uk

Sarah Lee – People’s Choice winner

Sarah Lee of Kona, Hawaii was awarded the SWELL People’s Choice Award by the attendees. SWELL commented: "Sarah captivated the crowd with her focus on human interactions with the water. She has a competitive swimming background and a reputation for getting big-wave water angles when no other photographers would get in the water."

Below is Sarah’s slideshow she submitted for the competition: